Story by Daniel Woods

For the second consecutive year, Spring Mills forward Caleb Thomas is the Eastern Panhandle Athletic Conference player of the year. The junior led the Cardinals to the first state tournament appearance in program history, culminating a Class AAAA runner-up finish.

Thomas averaged a team-best 16.6 points, 9.5 rebounds, 5.6 assists and 5.1 blocks per game during the regular season

Spring Mills also received the recognition of EPAC champion while head coach Luke Samples was named conference coach of the year.

In a similar fashion to Thomas a year ago with the boys award, a breakout sophomore is the girls basketball player of the year. Hedgesville forward Gracie Brown takes home the crown after averaging a double-double with 13.0 points and 10.2 rebounds per game.

Martinsburg received the title of conference champion with second-year Bulldog head coach Ronnie Fitzpatrick named the league’s coach of the year.

The full all-conference teams can be found below:


1st Team:

Caleb Thomas – Spring Mills

Jaiden Gladney – Jefferson

Jamari Jenkins – Jefferson

Keshaun Cheek – Martinsburg

Chayse Shipley – Martinsburg

Troy Woolaston – Musselman

Te Wilmer – Hedgesville

DJ Boardley – Washington

2nd Team:

Akwasi Opoku-Achampong – Spring Mills

Loakkhae Uth-Smith – Spring Mills

Xavier Anderson – Spring Mills

Kwynsie Pittsnogle – Hedgesville

Matt Mahood – Musselman

Gavin McClain – Musselman

Kris Doleman – Washington

Wyatt Shively – Jefferson



1st Team:

Gracie Brown – Hedgesville

Kaydance Bradley – Martinsburg

Serenity Ritchie – Martinsburg

Jasmine Morris – Musselman

Jazmyn Taylor – Jefferson

Bri King – Spring Mills

Lexi Adams – Washington

Mary Rivera – Washington

2nd Team:

Chloe Irving – Martinsburg

Hayley Martin – Martinsburg

Ciara Puller – Musselman

Sarah Price – Musselman

Larkin Walker – Musselman

Nevaeh Thompson – Musselman

Faith Bush – Spring Mills

Timia Perry – Washington

Ariana Hairston – Washington