On Tuesday, Berkeley County Commission interviewed three of the eight men who applied to serve the unexpired four-year term of Sheriff of Berkeley County     

through December 31 of this year.

Robert Blair, a retired West Virginia State Trooper, said he is honored to be considered for the position:

David Scott Richmond, a retired law enforcement officer who has worked locally as a deputy, said he needs to learn the position but he is ready to serve:

Jeremy Farner, an instructor at the advanced training center in Harpers Ferry, said he’s ready to be on the job 24/7

Following the interview, President Whitacre laid out the timeline:

The County Commission intends to appoint a new Sheriff on Jan. 18th. A swearing-in ceremony for the appointed Sheriff is to be held in the County Commission Chambers on Jan. 19.

You can see the interviews in their entirety on the Berkeley County West Virginia Commission social media.

The finalists for the appointment are:
• Robert A. Blair, Martinsburg
• Jeremy J. Farner, Martinsburg
• David Scott Richmond, Martinsburg
Among the others applying to fill the position were
• David (Davy) Harold Jones of Hedgesville
• Tyler John Kalkbrenner  of Falling Waters
• Kenneth M. Lemaster Jr., of Martinsburg
• Kenneth Richard Mattson of Inwood
 • Michael Wood of Hedgesville
The individual appointed to fill the vacancy will be expected to complete the unexpired four-year term of former Sheriff Nathan Harmon, who resigned on December 26, 2023.
 According to information from the Berkeley County Commission regarding the appointment, “Any vacancy that occurs in the office of prosecuting attorney, sheriff, assessor or county surveyor is to be filled by the County Commission, per W.Va. Code 3-10-8. Individuals appointed or elected to serve as sheriff are limited to serving a total of two, consecutive terms, regardless of the length of the unexpired term, per W.Va. State Law.”
To be considered for appointment to this public office, applicants must have met the following criteria per WV State law:
• Be at least 18 years old.
• Be legally eligible to hold public office.
• Be a member of the same political party as the officeholder who vacated the office.
• Must reside in Berkeley County.