MARTINSBURG, W.Va. — On Tuesday, the Berkeley County Commission will interview three of the eight men who applied to serve the unexpired four-year term of Sheriff of Berkeley County through December 31 of this year.

That announcement from yesterday’s Commission meeting.  Here’s what it sounded like as Commission President Jim Whitacre made the announcement:

The finalists for the appointment, according to a press release from Berkeley County government, are       

  • Robert A. Blair, Martinsburg
  • Jeremy J. Farner, Martinsburg
  • David Scott Richmond, Martinsburg

Applications also were received from David (Davy) Harold Jones of Hedgesville; Tyler John Kalkbrenner of Falling Waters; Kenneth M. Lemaster Jr., of Martinsburg; Kenneth Richard Mattson of Inwood and Michael Wood of Hedgesville.

The interviews of the three finalists will be held on Jan. 16 in a special public meeting of the Berkeley County Commission. The special meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:30 AM.

The individual chosen will complete the unexpired four-year term of former Sheriff Nathan Harmon, who resigned on December 26th.

The three finalists were announced by Berkeley County Commission President James P. Whitacre after the commissioners reviewed applications during a special afternoon Executive Session.

The County Commission intends to appoint a new Sheriff on Jan. 18th. A swearing-in ceremony for the appointed Sheriff is to be held in the County Commission Chambers on Jan. 19.

According to the press release, any vacancy that occurs in the office of prosecuting attorney, sheriff, assessor or county surveyor is to be filled by the County Commission, per W.Va. Code 3-10-8. Individuals appointed or elected to serve as sheriff are limited to serving a total of two, consecutive terms, regardless of the length of the unexpired term, per W.Va. State Law.  

To be considered for appointment to this public office, state law states applicants must be a resident of Berkeley County, be 18 years of age, be legally eligible to hold public office and be a member of the same political party as the vacating office holder, in this case, Republican.