MARTINSBURG, W.Va. — The Berkeley County Commission held its first meeting of 2024 with The Honorable Tony Petrucci, County Clerk opening the meeting:

Jim Whitacre was unanimously elected to the President’s post, as was Eddie Gochenhour as Vice President.

Jim Whitacre is Berkeley County Commission President for 2024

Eddie Gochenour is Berkeley County Commission Vice President for 2024


The County’s Emergency Ambulance Authority EMS Fee Department Lead, Cassie Custer, presented exonerations to the members for consideration:

The amount for each exoneration is about one hundred dollars.

Also at Thursday’s Berkeley County Commission meeting, President Jim Whitacre acknowledged the State Champion Martinsburg Bulldog football team:

The Commission also approved a Memorandum of Understanding with the School System for Baker Field, the yearly meeting schedule, and a mileage rate for county employees.

One county over, Steve Stolipher was elected to a second term as Jefferson County Commission President.

Steve Stolipher was reelected as president of the Jefferson County Commission.

The Journal reports it was an unusual move Thursday, as usually it’s a new commissioner who takes on the role each January. This week, though, Commissioner Jane Tabb nominated Stolipher after Commissioner

Jennifer Krouse nominated Jackson.

Tabb, Stolipher and Pasha Majdi voted for Stolipher, while Krouse and Jackson voted for Jackson.

Morgan County’s Commission met January 3rd.

The Panhandle News Network’s Al Gaige contributed to this story.