HAGERSTOWN, MD — New Hagerstown Fire Chief John DiBacco and new Deputy Fire Chief Adam Hopkins were sworn in to the City of Hagerstown at the City Council meeting last week.

A congratulatory post on the city’s social media page has photos from the ceremony and praises both as bringing “valuable experience and dedication to serve our community.”

New Hagerstown Fire Chief John DiBacco (Photo Credit City of Hagerstown)

Last week, Hagerstown Mayor Tekesha Martinez and the City Council recognizing outgoing Fire Chief Steve Lohr for his dedication/

A post from the city’s social media says Lohr has been active in fire service since 1971 not only as a volunteer firefighter with Funkstown and Antietam Fire Companies but with Community Rescue Service as well. On June 9, 2015, Steve became the City of Hagerstown’s Fire Chief after retiring from Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Services in 2014.

Steve Lohr was recently honored as the William F. Foster Outstanding Service Award Honoree at the Spartan Emergency Response 2023 Fire Truck Training Conference (FTTC) in Lansing, Michigan.

Steve Lohr
Outgoing Hagerstown Fire Chief
Photo Credit City of Hagerstown

The award recipient is an individual chosen for his many years of support of the professional emergency vehicle technician training and certification process through the Emergency Vehicle Technician (EVT) Commission.
The City of Hagerstown’s post says, “The City of Hagerstown extends our sincere gratitude and recognition to Steve Lohr for his dedication and service to the citizens of Hagerstown and for making a difference in our community.”

New Deputy Fire Chief Adam Hopkins (Photo Credit: City of Hagerstown)