CHARLESTON, W.Va. — Marijuana laws differ in Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Effective July 1, 2023, a person 21 years or older may lawfully possess and use cannabis in the state of Maryland. The new laws are outlined at and specify that “Adults 21 years and older may possess up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis flower, up to 12 grams of concentrated cannabis; or a total amount of cannabis products that does not exceed 750 mg of THC. This is known as the ‘personal use amount.'”

In Virginia, as of 2021, possession of up to one ounce of marijuana for ages 21 and up is legal as is having four plants in the home for those ages 21 and up. Private use and adult sharing within a home or on private property is legal in Virginia within these parameters, according to ACLU Virginia.

In West Virginia, recreational marijuana use is not legal. What’s more, cannabis remains illegal under federal law. It is illegal to carry or transport cannabis over state lines.

West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey weighed in during an appearance on Panhandle Live:

As for the differing laws from state to state:

He says he is opposed to legalized recreational marijuana in the Mountain State:

Morrisey talked about the state’s efforts to curb addiction and said there are ways cannabis use could expose someone to harm:

In November 2022, Maryland voters approved a referendum to legalize marijuana for adult use. The Maryland Legislature passed the accompanying Cannabis Reform Act (H.B. 556/S.B. 516) in spring 2023. The bill took effect upon Governor Wes Moore’s signing on May 3, 2023.

According to the Maryland State Comptroller’s office, sales of adult use cannabis are permitted beginning July 1, 2023. Maryland law imposes a 9% sales and use tax on retail sales of adult use cannabis and cannabis products, which is the same rate that applies to the sale of alcoholic beverages.