CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) honored the 2022 Golden Horseshoe recipients on Tuesday, June 14, at the West Virginia Culture Center. Two-hundred-twenty-one (221) eighth graders were honored at thee ceremonies.

This year’s ceremony featured the newly designed sword created and forged by students at Musselman High School and James Rumsey Technical Institute in Berkeley County.

A complete list of 2022 winners can be found on the WVDE website.

Berkeley County had 11 winners
Bracha Warui, Saint Joseph Parish School
Julianne Haderer, Hedgesville Middle School
Caitlin Hall, Hedgesville Middle School
Kaleb Moreno, Musselman Middle School
Nolan Copenhaver, Spring Mills Middle School
Lillian Bloom, Spring Mills Middle School
Andrew Haggerty, Spring Mills Middle School
Brody Travis, Mountain Ridge Middle School
Dalvin Norodom, Martinsburg South Middle School
Aubrey Flanigan, Martinsburg South Middle School
Dashawn Fedee, Martinsburg North Middle School

Jefferson County had six winners
Scott Leonard, Shepherdstown Middle School
Wenonah Nicodemus, Shepherdstown Middle School
Douglas Gillette, Harpers Ferry Middle School
Breanna Trujillo, Harpers Ferry Middle School
Breylynn Scott, Harpers Ferry Middle School
Shane Gleason, Wildwood Middle School

Morgan County had three winners
Landon Litten, Warm Springs Middle School
Camden Spade, Warm Springs Middle School
Adam O’Brien, Warm Springs Middle School